Jian-Min (Jim) Zuo
Faculty, Materials Research Laboratory
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Professional Preparation
Nanjing University        B.S., Physics        1983
Arizona State University        Ph.D., Condensed Matter Physics        1989

2010-         Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Illinois,
2006-2010        Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering,
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2000-2006        Assistant Professor of Materials Science and Engineering,
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2006        Invited Professor, University of Lille, France
1998-2000        Associate Research Scientist of Department of Physics, Arizona
State University, Tempe
1997        Promotion Postdoctoral Fellow, Japan Society for Science, Kyushu
University, Japan
1991-1997        Assistant Research Scientist of Department of Physics, Arizona
State University, Tempe
1989-1991        Postdoctoral Fellow, Physics and NSF Center for High
Resolution Electron Microscopy, Arizona State University, Tempe

Awards (selected)
2011        Chair of Excellence, Nanoscience Foundation, France
2005        NSF DMR Career Award
2001        Burton Award for distinguished contributions to the field of microscopy
and microanalysis, Microscopy Society of America

Selected Publications (Over 165 total publications, 4 book chapters, and
one co-authored book on electron diffraction, h-index = 31, >3,800 total
citations since 1991)
1.        A. B. Shah, Q. M. Ramasse, X. F. Zhai, J. G. Wen, S. J. May, I. Petrov,
A. Bhattacharya, P. Abbamonte, J. N. Eckstein, and J. M. Zuo, "Probing
Interfacial Electronic Structures in Atomic Layer LaMnO3 and SrTiO3
Superlattices," Advanced Materials 22 (10), 1156-+ (2010).
2.        S. A. Chambers, M. H. Engelhard, V. Shutthanandan, Z. Zhu, T. C.
Droubay, L. Qiao, P. V. Sushko, T. Feng, H. D. Lee, T. Gustafsson, E.
Garfunkel, A. B. Shah, J. M. Zuo, and Q. M. Ramasse, "Instability, intermixing
and electronic structure at the epitaxial LaAlO3/SrTiO3(001) heterojunction,"
Surface Science Reports 65 (10-12), 317-352 (2010).
3.        A. B. Shah, Q. M. Ramasse, S. J. May, J. Kavich, J. G. Wen, X. Zhai, J.
N. Eckstein, J. Freeland, A. Bhattacharya, and J. M. Zuo, "Presence and spatial
distribution of interfacial electronic states in LaMnO3-SrMnO3 superlattices,"
Physical Review B 82 (11), 115112 (2010).
4.        A. Bhattacharya, S. J. May, Sget Velthuis, M. Warusawithana, X. Zhai, B.
Jiang, J. M. Zuo, M. R. Fitzsimmons, S. D. Bader, and J. N. Eckstein,
"Metal-insulator transition and its relation to magnetic structure in
(LaMnO3)(2n)/(SrMnO3)(n) superlattices," Physical Review Letters 100 (25),
257203 (2008).
5.        J.M. Zuo, "Measurements of electron densities in solids: a real-space view
of electronic structure and bonding in inorganic crystals", Reports on Progress In
Physics 67, 2053-2103 (2004)
6        W. J. Huang, R. Sun, J. Tao, L. D. Menard, R. G. Nuzzo, and J. M. Zuo,
"Coordination-dependent surface atomic contraction in nanocrystals revealed by
coherent diffraction," Nature Materials 7, 308-313 (2008).
7        S. Smadici, P. Abbamonte, A. Bhattacharya, X. F. Zhai, B. Jiang, A.
Rusydi, J. N. Eckstein, S. D. Bader, and J. M. Zuo, "Electronic reconstruction at
SrMnO3-LaMnO3 superlattice interfaces," Physical Review Letters 99 (19),
196404 (2007).
8        J. M. Zuo, I. Vartanyants, M. Gao, R. Zhang, and L. A. Nagahara,
"Atomic resolution imaging of a carbon nanotube from diffraction intensities,"
Science 300, 1419-1421 (2003).
9        W. J. Huang, J. M. Zuo, B. Jiang, K. W. Kwon, and M. Shim,
"Sub-angstrom-resolution diffractive imaging of single nanocrystals," Nature
Physics 5, 129-133 (2009).
10        J. G. Wen, J. Mabon, C. H. Lei, S. Burdin, E. Sammann, I. Petrov, A. B.
Shah, V. Chobpattana, J. Zhang, K. Ran, J. M. Zuo, S. Mishina, and T. Aoki,
"The Formation and Utility of Sub-Angstrom to Nanometer-Sized Electron Probes
in the Aberration-Corrected Transmission Electron Microscope at the University
of Illinois," Microsc. microanal. 16 (2), 183-193 (2010).

Synergistic Activities
Referee        Referees to multiple journals and funding agencies (NSF, DOE, and
Organizer        Organized and chaired multiple sessions in major international
conferences (MSA, IUCr, MRS, ACA)
Developer        WebEMAPS programs for electron microscopy simulation,
visualization of crystal structures, and crystallographic computation. The website   
has been used by research scientists, engineers, students and teachers across the
world for more than 18000 times since 2004.
Committee        U.S. National Committee for Crystallography, Commission on
Electron Diffraction, International Union for Crystallography.
Editor        Microscopy Research Techniques, Chinese Journal of Electron
Microscopy, Ultramicroscopy (special issue)

Collaborators of past 48 months:
J.N. Eckstein, L.H. Greene, R.G. Nuzzo, M. Shim, X.L. Li, I. Petrov, Y. Lu, P.
Abbamonte  (UIUC), A. Bhattacharya, W. Kwork, G. Crabtree (ANL), G.D.
Gu, Q. Li (BNL), M. Kim, Y. Kim (SNU, Korea), Y.G. Huang (Northwestern),
Y.F. Shi (RPI), S. Chambers (PNNL), S. Billinge (Colombia), Q. Chen (Beijing

Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Associates Supervised:  
Current: Kyou-Hyun Kim (Ph.D Candidate), Hefei Hu (Ph.D Candidate),
Honggyu Kim (Ph.D Candidate), Yifei Meng (Ph.D Candidate), Wenpei Gao
(Ph.D Candidate), Junjie Li (Postdoc.), Sungjin Kang (Ph.D Candidate, SNU).
Past: Amish Shah (Ph. D., Research Scientist, UIUC), Jiong Zhang (Ph. D. Intel,
Portland); Shankar Sivaramakrishnan (Ph. D., GE Research, NY), Hyuk Park
(Postdoc, BNL), W.J. Huang (Ph. D., Zeiss, Boston), T. Kim (Ph. D., Samsung,
Korea), Fakhruddin Bohra (M.S., Intel), C. Ayten (Ph.D, Ankara University,
Turkey), S. Kim (Postdoc, Korean Institute of Technology), J. Tao (Ph.D., BNL),
Y.F. Shi (MS, 2002, Professor at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), Hao Chen
(Ph.D., Advanced Materials), Boquan Li (Postdoc., Research Professor at WPI),
Jan Kare Bording (Postdoc, Stavanger University Norway), M. Gao (Postdoc.,
Kent Univ., Ohio), Emmanuel Aubert (Postdoc., Professor, Univ. of Nancy,
France), M. Kim (Ph.D. ASU, Prof. Seoul National Univ.).

Ph.D/Postdoctoral Supervisor:
John C.H. Spence, Regent Professor, Arizona State University and Lawrence
Berkeley National Laboratory.
Professor Jian-Min Zuo Research Group
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign